Blogging in a new way

When I first began blogging, I was anxious about the possible consequences of putting myself within reach of the public realm. There have been enough horror stories of web searches and facebook inspections by employers to make me think hard about what I put out there. A woman was recently fired from her degree track for having myspace posted a photo of herself at a Halloween costume with a cup in her hand and the label “drunken pirate” (full NYTimes article, which is very good, here)

her supervisor at the high school told her the photo was “unprofessional,” and the dean of Millersville University School of Education, where Snyder was enrolled, said she was promoting drinking in virtual view of her under-age students. As a result, days before Snyder’s scheduled graduation, the university denied her a teaching degree.

I have found people’s blogs before simply by using queries I knew to be likely for them, such as their first name if it is unusual, their hometown, and a recent vacation spot. If you know who they went on vacation with, and type the names of those people as well, you’ll hit gold right away.

Thus far, this blog has been an experiment. So far, I’ve been happy with it. I don’t think more than a half-dozen people read it, and most of its content has been political analysis. I have scrupulously avoided writing my name, or any proper names that are directly related to me. But now I’m starting to feel a bit safer. I will loosen the screws on what I let out of my mind in public. I’ll post personal pictures that I think are funny, tell people what’s on my mind, and update people on what I’m doing more. I’ll still put up political analysis, but it will share a lot more space with personal things as well.

This entry was posted in Interesting and unlabelled. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blogging in a new way

  1. not telling says:

    Wooooooooooooooooooo!!! Loosen those screws!!!

  2. andreakente says:

    Great idea! May many Mayflower pictures follow 😉

Leave a Reply

